Hidden Gems: Obscure 45s – No. 1 (Angelo & Eighteen)

Standard

I don’t know if this will be a regular feature, but I thought it’d be fun to post cool over-looked tunes.

This single, from Angelo & Eighteen, was released in 1972 on the RAK label. Both sides of the record were produced by Mickie Most, famous for being Donovan‘s producer (among others) in the late 1960s.

No-one seems to know much about the duo, except that they were part of this Canadian band in the late 60s. “Angelo” is Angelo Finaldi and “Eighteen” is Richard Tate. Finaldi has a MySpace page, but it appears he’s not updated it in quite a while. How they hooked up with Most and RAK, I’ve no clue. The A-side is called “Midnight Flight” and it’s a pretty cracking pop tune – funky bass, great guitar hook and sunshine-y vocal.

The B-side, however, mutates into a crazed, post-psych boogie-fest. Dig the screamed vocal and the two-note guitar phrase..it’s almost a completely different band. The tune has gained notoriety of late by being played on Jarvis Cocker’s 6Music show and name-checked by Noel Gallagher in an issue of MOJO magazine. I saw a copy of the record go for over £120.00 on eBay a few months ago.

You can hear the A-side at this blog: Pure Pop “Angelo & Eighteen” post

The B-side is here:

Marvellous stuff – shoulda been a massive hit. Amazing that it was released in 1972.

5 responses »

  1. Absolutely brilliant track. It wasn’t a hit because it was just TOO cool and we weren’t very cool back then! I think this should be a regular feature – as long as I can join in. Good one, mate.

  2. ‘Tis super-cool! It’s very rare now – like I said, I’ve only seen one be sold on eBay. Every time I’m in a charity shop and I see an RAK label, I think….”could it be?”

    Cool, man – we’ll make a regular feature – ‘course you can join in!! You’ve got much more music knowledge than I have!

  3. I doubt if an unhealthy regard for the works of Chicory Tip and The Rubettes really counts as music knowledge. I’m just imagining you grabbing every RAK single you can only to find it’s bloody Smokie, Mud or Hot Chocolate. Mind you, if you ever see a 45 of New World’s ‘Tom Tom Turnaround’ or Suzi Quatro’s ‘Can The Can’, let me know!

  4. Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha! Well, Chicory Tip *are* the forgotten heroes of prog-rock! I know, I have seen some RAK labels – can’t remember what the tunes were now, I just know they weren’t Angelo & Eighteen. I’ll look out for the New World and Quatro 45s for ya!

Leave a Reply

