Q. Where have you been, my blue eyed son? A. Been in the front room playing a ukulele.

Standard

Sorry I haven’t been around Rick’s Cape much of late but my life has been hyper hectic, which has meant I just haven’t had the time for any kind of considered post. I shall resist boring you with all the details of what’s been happening as I’m sure you don’t want to hear all my woes. Suffice to say, it’s ‘life and life only’ and we just have to press on. Isn’t it so for everyone? 

By way of a quick catch up before I attempt something of a more interesting nature, I’d just like to share with you all the news that I have taken to strumming a little soprano ukulele. The cubs were kind enough to present one to me on Father’s Day (should the apostrophe indicate singular father or multiple dads?) even though they now tell me they can’t stand the sound it makes and Mrs. Bear is positively against the thing. Serves them all right.

Image

An illustration of ukulele skills in action

Thus far, I’ve only learnt about six chords and haven’t advanced to anything fancy but I have found that this is enough to get me through most country or American folk type things. Thus, my Woody Guthrie and Hank Williams fetishes are easily transferable to the uke; though I am, perhaps, not the one to judge the results. I’ve also been working on some old Bluegrass gems of the gospel variety which really go down a storm with the family (I don’t think). I have, thus far, resisted the temptation to find out how much of the works of Black Sabbath or The Ramones are set fair for ukulele treatments but it won’t be long, I’m sure. More ukulele updates soon.

4 responses »

  1. Nice one, Bear! I must admit – I’ve slacked on playing anything for ages. Meant to break out the sitar and noodle a bit, but haven’t got round to it. I think you should rock some Sabs and Ramones on the uke. We saw the Ukelele Orchestra of Great Britain play “Silver Machine” and “Sunshine Of Your Love”…so it *can* be done! Hope you and yours are well! 🙂

  2. The Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain are real heroes and it was your good self and Pixie who introduced them to me. Break out that sitar, man. ‘Freebird’, anyone?

Leave a Reply

