Some Entertainment (1)

Video

Pogle’s Wood (1966)

This was my favourite TV show when I was about five or six years old. It’s magical, haunting and just a little bit mad. The Pogles were proto-hippies, living the life of the rural idyll, away from the prying eyes of humans. I am still haunted by the memory of the dream I had about joining them on a quest to a dark castle when I was a mere cub. I awoke trembling in fear and had to creep into my mum and dad’s bed. I couldn’t stop shaking all night and was only comforted by my parents singing Adge Cutler and The Wurzels’ ‘Drink Up Thy Zider’ to me. I kid you not. Of course, it didn’t put me off the Pogles.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

